My Web 2.0 Sunday

It’s 2pm. I’m preparing for this week’s classes, watching the Houston Texans trounce the competition, and doing my social media rounds:

  1. I log into TweetDeck in case a student sends a direct message.
  2. From my own professional account, I tweet my comments and a link to a New York Times article on the Chicago teachers’ union strike.
  3. I decide to skip tweeting from my department’s Twitter account until tomorrow, when we need to remind folks about Tuesday’s amazing campus speaker.
  4. I go to my file of “future Pinterest pins” and add one that I found over two months ago on the future of online learning. I have 8 pins left in my stockpile.
  5. I check my Twitter feed and find two interesting links about educational technologies.
  6. In the first link I read about Evernote, an app that one Portland teacher, Rob Van Nood, is using with elementary students to make electronic portfolios.
  7. Evernote for Schools becomes another Pinterest pin for today. I include a link to Mr. Van Nood’s blog entry on getting started with the software for eportfolios.
  8. In the second link I found on Twitter, I end up clicking one of the Edudemic article’s “you might like” links to get to “50 Education Technology Tools Every Teacher Should Know About.” I’m more interested in the infographic at the top than the list of tools.
  9. I log in to WordPress and add a quick blog entry with Edudemic’s image about smartphone users being students who study more, check their academic progress more, etc.
  10. I check my scheduled blog posts. I have five entries set to go public over the next month. This is my approach to blogging: write batches of posts in a single evening and schedule them to publish, one at a time, every Tuesday around 9am and add occasional quick entries here and there.
  11. I check our department’s Facebook fan page for new followers (none) and post views (15-25 for the last few days, which isn’t too bad). Two days ago I added a post about a successful alumnae; today it’s a link to information for the University’s tutoring center, since it’s time for the first — if not second — exams of the semester.
  12. I log into cel.ly to make sure that I pre-scheduled text messages to remind both my classes about what’s up Monday and Tuesday.
  13. I stop to write this blog post 🙂
  14. I navigate to Wikimedia Commons to find a reusable social media image to add to this post.

Colearn Social Media

By Colearn (Own work) [CC-BY-SA-3.0 (http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-sa/3.0)%5D, via Wikimedia Commons, http://bit.ly/OyAnDY

 

If I weren’t writing this blog entry at the same time that I’m updating Twitter, Pinterest, Facebook, and my blog, the whole process might take 25-30 minutes.

It’s no small commitment for an educator to take on Web 2.0. In these 30 minutes, I not only shared information with others, but I also got a new perspective on the Chicago strike, ideas about yet another collaborative app, and reassurance that I haven’t fallen behind on any of my many accounts.

Leave a Reply

